Vegetarian Taco Soup

Vegetarian Taco Soup

Vegetarian Taco Soup

Do you believe how cool it’s been this summer? I can’t. I’m STILL stuck in Ohio waiting for my house to sell and can’t wait to get to Florida to warm my bones! So, on a recent 64 degree day, I made this taco soup. It was beyond delicious so the day was not a total disappointment.

I’ve made a similar version that used a rotisserie chicken and it was also great, but since we are limiting meat (we’ve been vegetarian for a bit over 2 weeks now…) I opted to make it vegetarian by omitting the chicken and adding more beans.

I put a few Gluten-free rice chips on the side of my bowl, grabbed a blankey and watched Ghost Stories on TV! My idea of the perfect day. So cozy and comfy. Hope you like this as much as we did.

Ingredients:

1 can- corn, drained
1 can- kidney beans, drained
1 can- black beans, drained
1 can- pinto beans, drained
1 can- (14 oz.) stewed tomatoes, Mexican style if you can find them. Or fire roasted ones are good too.
1 and 1/2- packages taco seasoning
1/4 tsp. cumin
3/4 tsp. onion powder
1/2 tsp. salt (omit this if you get regular taco seasoning… I added it because I bought low-sodium taco seasoning)
1/2 tsp. garlic powder
3/4 tsp. chili powder 
Water- to thin it if you like, otherwise this is a thicker stew. (* I used approximately 1+ cups for a more soupy texture.)
Directions:
Throw it all in a pot on the stove on low heat for a few hours or just warm it through fully and eat. The taste gets better the longer it cooks. (You can also put it all in a crock pot and cook all day, 6 hours on low.)
Garnish with:
Cheddar cheese, sour cream, fresh cilantro, avocado slices, chopped green onions and rice chips (gluten-free) in place of tortilla chips.

*Note: You can cut up a rotisserie chicken too and put than in it and you can add green chilies if you like it hot.

Leave a comment