Sweet and Sour Chicken

Sweet n Sour Chicken

Sweet n Sour Chicken

My husband and I wanted take out from a nearby Chinese place a few weeks ago. So, my husband went over the ingredients with the girl behind the counter and made sure mine was strictly gluten and dairy free. I ended up with Garlic Chicken and he got Sweet and Sour Chicken.

To make a long story short, the meals were disgusting. Like nothing I have ever eaten before. So bad, that after I dumped $15 worth of food down the garbage disposal, I headed right for Yelp and left a very descriptive review on just how disgusting it was.

Since then, my hubby has been wanting sweet and sour chicken so I made this for him yesterday. And I usually can’t have sweet n sour chicken because of the breading, but I can have this! YAY!

I have to say, it’s absolutely delicious and the leftovers warm up well the next day. I will make this again and again and I think you will too. So much more tasty and so much more healthy for you than take out. The chicken is tender and the sauce is perfectly sweet and sour. I added red pepper and broccoli, but you can add any veggies you want or none at all.

I’m not sure who to give credit to for this recipe, as it’s on Pinterest a few dozen times and each person takes credit for it as being theirs. LOL! Anyway, to the best of my ability, I did some sleuthing around and I think this gal at Mel’s Kitchen is the one who made it originally and everyone copied her but didn’t give her credit. Mel talks about having made this recipe back in college over ten years ago and she put it on her blog in 2012 and it has over 600 comments. So, thank you Mel!

Anyway, I hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

12- chicken tenders (Yes, I made a lot because I didn’t want to cook the next day… 😉

1 cup- cornstarch

Salt and pepper

2 large- eggs, beaten

olive oil to fry

Sauce: 

3/4 cup- sugar

4 Tablespoons- ketchup

1/2 cup- apple cider vinegar

1- Tablespoon soy sauce, I use this kind for gluten free soy sauce

1 teaspoon- garlic powder

(*Note: I would double the the sauce recipe for this much chicken when I make it again…) If using less chicken, this amount of sauce ingredients should be enough.)

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

Make sauce and set aside

Put skillet on stove and add oil to cover bottom of pan

Fill two bowls, one with cornstarch and the other with the two beaten eggs

Cut chicken into one inch pieces and place on a plate and season with salt and pepper

Add the seasoned chicken pieces to the cornstarch and toss them until well coated.

Turn your skillet to high heat

Toss the cornstarch coated pieces into the egg mixture now and remove quickly as to not remove your cornstarch

When the oil is hot, place the chicken pieces in the skillet and fry until the outside has a golden brown coating (the inside will not be done, you are only browning the outside)

While they are cooking, get a large 9X13 inch pan ready next to the skillet

Place the browned pieces in the pan and cover with the sauce mixture

Place in the oven and bake for 1 hour. (I didn’t turn mine as her recipe indicated to do and mine was fine.)

You can place any cut up veggies in the pan with the chicken or cook them separately, if you wish.

Serve over white rice.

Breading and sauce station

Breading and sauce station

Pieces coated with cornstarch

Pieces coated with cornstarch

Frying to a golden brown

Frying to a golden brown

Golden brown

Golden brown

Into the pot it goes...

Into the pot it goes…

Add your veggies

Add your veggies and sauce then bake 1 hour

Plated over white rice

Plated over white rice

Good to the last drop!

Good to the last drop!

This is warmed up the next day

This is warmed up the next day

 

 

Leave a Reply

