Dairy Free Pumpkin Crisp

Pumpkin Crisp

Dairy Free Pumpkin Crisp

Hello! It’s been awhile. Like a long while. But, I’m back now and rarin’ to go.

I’d lost interest in posting recipes. Since my diagnosis with Hashimoto’s I have to be strictly gluten and dairy free and mostly ate whole foods in the beginning. But, when I do make a recipe and it’s good, I definitely want to share it. This recipe came from Busy But Healthy.

I made it for Thanksgiving and wanted to get it on my blog so you can try it for Christmas.

Also, just so you know, I’ll be reworking the entire blog come the New Year to include craft projects, homemaking, health and beauty, gardening, holidays, gift ideas, repurposing, and reviews on books, planners, various products, etc. Stay tuned! And if there’s anything you’d like to see covered here in my blog, let me know by leaving a comment below.

Ingredients:

14 oz. can real pumpkin

1 and 1/2 cup- full fat coconut milk (shake the can well before adding)

2 – eggs

1/2 tsp.- salt

2 tsp.- pumpkin pie spice

1/3 cup- brown sugar

1 tsp- vanilla extract (this is the 7th ingredient)

1 cup- GF quick oats (this starts the topping ingredients)

1/2 cup- GF all purpose flour

1/3 cup – brown sugar

1 and 1/2 tsp. – cinnamon

4 Tablespoons – Earth Balance melted (if you’re not dairy free, use regular butter)

Directions:

Heat oven to 375 degrees

Combine the first seven ingredients in a bowl and using your hand mixer, mix until combined.

Put this mixture in a round 8X8 or 9X9 pan, sprayed with cooking spray and bake for 35 minutes.

While that’s baking. Combine the oats, all purpose flour, brown sugar and cinnamon together in a bowl and mix together well.

Melt your butter and pour over this oat mixture and stir. This will now be crumbly like the topping of an apple crisp.

When the base is done after 35 minutes, place this oat topping on top of the base, spread evenly and return to the oven and bake for another 25 minutes or until golden brown.

The base will be set like pumpkin pie and the top will be like that of an apple crisp.

Let cool thoroughly.

*Note: This is a little messy to serve. I tried a pie server then a spatula to serve it. I’m thinking that maybe next time I could cut the coconut milk down to just a cup and 1/4. Tell me what you think?

thumb_IMG_1234_1024

Finished pumpkin crisp

 

 

Leave a Reply

