Carrot Cake Cupcakes (grain and dairy-free)

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Carrot Cake Cupcakes

I’ve recently found that I have a food allergy to cow’s milk and need to be (mostly) grain-free for a new diagnosis of Hashimoto’s thyroiditis.

I follow Danielle Walker on Facebook who also has to be grain and dairy-free and bought her cookbook called Against All Grain: Meals Made Simple.

Tomorrow being Father’s Day and carrot cake being my husband’s all-time favorite, I made these tonight for him while he watched a movie.

The recipe is for 12 cupcakes, but I got only 8.

Also, the recipe calls for coconut butter and although I found it at Fresh Market, it was $10.99 and I wasn’t going to buy it when I didn’t know what else I could use it for. (If anyone out there has used coconut butter, also called coconut manna or creamed coconut, please let me know how you like it and how you exactly use it. Do you use it like regular butter?) So, in place of the coconut butter, I used Earth Balance “butter” which is dairy free butter that tastes just like the real thing.

Please note: The batter to this recipe is dense. Like, you can form it into a ball with your hands, dense. Don’t be afraid, they turn out.

Ingredients: Cupcakes

4 – at room temperature, eggs

1/2 cup- honey

1/4 cup- coconut oil, melted

1/2 tsp. – vanilla extract

1/2 cup – coconut flour, sifted

1 tsp. – baking soda

3/4 tsp. – ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. – ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp. – ground ginger (the kind in the jar, not fresh for this)

1/4 tsp. – sea salt

1 and 1/4 cup – grated carrots

1/4 cup – raisins

1/4 cup – pecans (optional)- I left these out

Ingredients: Frosting 

1/4 cup coconut butter (I used Earth Balance)

3 Tbsp – honey

1 Tbsp. – coconut oil, softened

1 Tbsp. – full fat coconut milk

1/2 tsp – fresh lemon juice

1/4 tsp. – apple cider vinegar

3 TBSP. – powdered sugar (I had to add this to thicken my frosting, probably because I didn’t use coconut butter) If you use the coconut butter and it turns out, let me know.)

Garnish: 

1/4 cup unsweetened coconut, shredded

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 350 and line a muffin tin with cupcake liners

Beat the eggs, honey, coconut oil and vanilla together with a hand mixer until well mixed

Add coconut flour, baking soda, spices, and salt and beat again until combined fully

Fold in grated carrots and raisins (and pecans, if using)

Scoop batter into liners leaving a bit of room at the top although these do not rise like regular cupcakes.

Bake for 18-20 minutes (mine took 22 minutes) until toothpcik comes out clean from center

Remove cupcakes from the muffin tin and cool on a rack before frosting

For the frosting, combine all the frosting ingredients together in a small bowl. If runny, place in the refrigerator to thicken. (mine did not thicken after 4 tries to refrigerate and mix again, so I added 3 Tbsp. of powdered sugar and that did the trick.)

Frost each cupcake, then sprinkle with shredded coconut. YUM!

Leave a Reply

