Mushroom Soup (vegan and dairy free)

 

Vegan, dairy-free mushroom soup. I forgot to photograph it in a pretty bowl! Oops!

Vegan, dairy-free mushroom soup. I forgot to photograph it in a pretty bowl! Oops!

I’ve recently found out that I have Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. It’s an autoimmune disease where your immune system attacks the thyroid gland. And on top of that, I’ve found out I’m allergic to dairy.

If you’ve been here since the beginning, (exactly 135 posts ago), you can see from the very beginning that I’ve never eaten bad. There’s not a lot sweets here or things loaded with sugar. We eat very Paleo and organically and have tons of vegetables. But, you will see potatoes, biscuits, gravies, breads and some desserts… you know, all the good stuff, LOL! But now, any time you see a recipe, it will be strictly gluten free and dairy free.

*For the earlier stuff with gluten and dairy, please go back to the beginning of the blog dating back to 2011.

____

I wanted to make pork chops with mushroom soup in the crockpot the other day, but almost all canned soups contain gluten (wheat!) As if cooking from scratch isn’t time consuming enough, now I have to make MANY of the ingredients that go into the actual making of a recipe. (If you need me, I’ll be in the kitchen is my new motto!) Hahaha! 🙂

Anyway, armed with a computer you can find anything you need to know or find and I found this delicious, creamy, won’t-miss-the-gluten-or-dairy-one-bit, decadent mushroom soup recipe here. I mean, this gal is brilliant! She made a mushroom soup without flours or starches to thicken it.

I had a lot left over and I froze it in a freezer bag to yank out any time I need it. Without further ado:

Ingredients:

2 cups- cauliflower florets

1 and 2/3 cups of unsweetened almond milk (I used coconut. Still fab.)

1 tsp- onion powder (I love this gal! If you’ve followed from the beginning, you know I hate white cooked onions. Gross.)

1/4 tsp- salt

Pepper to taste

1/2 tsp- olive oil

1 and 1/2 cups- white mushrooms

1/2- yellow onion, diced

Directions:

Place cauliflower, milk, onion powder and salt and pepper in a sauce pan and bring to a boil

Once boiling, turn down to a simmer and simmer for 8 minutes

Take cauliflower mixture and add to a food processor or blender and puree. Set this aside

In a skillet, heat your oil, chopped mushrooms and diced onions and sauté until onions are translucent about another 8 minutes

Add the cauliflower mixture to the mushroom/onion sauce and simmer for 10 minutes until thick. (if you see from my pictures I actually added the mushrooms to the puree and pureed them both, instead of her way. Mine was a lot smoother for the crockpot and chops I was making it for, but when having it just as my meal, I will make it her way for a chunkier version.)

Now, that wasn’t so bad, was it? And totally worth it!

Boiling Cauliflower

Boiling Cauliflower

Sautéing the mushrooms

Sautéing the mushrooms

Pureeing shrooms with cauliflower = SOUP!

Pureeing shrooms with cauliflower = SOUP!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

