Chicken and Biscuit Bake

Chicken and Biscuit Bake

Chicken and Biscuit Bake

Well, butter my butt and call me a country girl at heart! How’d this recipe get in here? Oh dern!

Yep, as much as I try to be “good” when making food choices, I just can’t seem to escape a hankering for things like this once in awhile. 

As I’ve said before- I’m not much into depriving myself of anything, so when recipes like this come up, I either cut back in other areas or up the exercise.

It was cold and wintery February when I last made this and I was out walking 4 miles a day, briskly. So… bring on the chicken and biscuits! Woot!

Anyway, I hope you still respect me in the morning.

Ingredients:

3 cups – cooked chicken, shredded ( I used 6 tenderloins or you could use 2-3 large chicken breasts)

1 and a 1/2 cups – chicken stock, then add 3- chicken flavored bouillon cubes OR 2 packets of Swanson Flavor Boost chicken flavor)

1/4 cup (or half a stick) – grass-fed butter (I use Kerrygold)

2 cups- gluten-free Bisquick

1- can cream of chicken soup

1 and 1/2 cups – milk

1 and a 1/2 cups- frozen veggies (I used a carrot, broccoli and cauliflower mix, but you can use any blend you prefer)

Pepper

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 degrees

Warm your chicken stock in a small pan and keep warm

Coat 9X13 pan with cooking spray

Pour in melted butter

Layer cooked chicken on top of butter

Sprinkle in your frozen veggies (I prefer to thaw them for about 30 minutes first)

In a small bowl combine your Bisquick and milk, and whisk (it’s o.k. if there are some lumps.)

Pour over chicken and veggies, DO NOT STIR

Sprinkle with pepper

Combine warm chicken stock/bouillon with cream of chicken soup and mix together well

Pour this over the Bisquick layer and DO NOT MIX

Note: This will look soupy, but don’t worry.

Bake at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes until the top is brown and bubbly

Allow to set for 5 minutes then serve

Leave a Reply

