Creamed Egg on Toast: A Favorite from Childhood

Creamed Egg on Toast

Creamed Egg on Toast

It’s a cold, snowy day in North East Ohio today. Twenty-one degrees with a wind chill of eleven, to be exact.  Burrrr! But, I have to say, these kinds of days where you stay all warm and toasty inside while putzing around the house, have to be one of my favorite kind of days, ever.

It’s past one in the afternoon and I’m still in my pajamas. Oh yeah… I deserve this.

So today, I made one of my childhood favs for a late brunch, it’s the one breakfast my mom made that my brother and I would scarf down. It’s creamed egg on toast. And it’s pure comfort food. When I visit my mom to this day, she still makes it for me.

When I tell people about it, they always say, “Creamed what? I’ve never heard of that.” Well, let me tell you… It’s the simplest and tastiest thing you can make. My boys and my husband love it so much, they will lick their plates. No kidding.

So without further ado. Creamed Egg on Toast. Hope you love it as much as we do. And if you don’t. I don’t want to hear about it. LOL! Not much from my childhood is a great memory, this however is. Enjoy!

Ingredients: 

6 eggs, boiled and peeled, and sliced – (or as many as you need. This was for two servings, for two people. If my sons were here, I would have had to make a dozen eggs and increase my milk and corn starch, below. You can play with it to make what you need.)

1 and 1/4 cups milk

1 Tbsp. corn starch

Pad of butter

Salt and pepper to taste

Bread, toasted and buttered.

Directions:

Boil your eggs. (For those of you who don’t know how to boil eggs properly: place eggs in pan, cover with water, add some salt, bring to a rolling boil, bil two minutes, shut off burner, cover pot with lid and let sit for 20 minutes.)

After 20 minutes, drain, let sit in some cool water for a few minutes, remove shells, rinse and set eggs aside.

Take your cornstarch, and just a few ounces of your milk and mix together in a measuring cup with a fork until smooth. (This is how to thicken hot liquids and gravies without the clumping.)

Using the same sauce pan you boiled your eggs in, add the rest of the milk and this little bit of thickening you just made in the measuring cup and add it to the pan. Add your pat of butter and salt and pepper.

Using a wire whisk, whisk until thickened. (If it gets too thick you can thin it with more milk, and if it still too thin you can continue to add corn starch in small quantities by first add it to a small amount of milk first, not the pan of heated milk. This is where you can play with the mixture, but it should be a nice, pourable white sauce.)

When it’s the way you like, take the pan off the burner, slice your boiled eggs into sauce and stir.

Serve over hot, buttered toast and add more salt and pepper to taste.

Go ahead. Stay in your pajamas today. You deserve it. Oh, and thanks Mom! 🙂

Creamed Egg in the Saucepan

Creamed Egg in the Saucepan

Leave a Reply

