Lemony Linguine with Turkey Sausage and Spinach

Lemony Linguine with Turkey Sausage and Spinach

It never fails. The minute I want to watch my carb intake, I start to crave carbs. BUT, this recipe is from Weight Watchers and I think if you’re exercising, eating lots of veggies and drinking water, you can splurge and have some pasta in moderation.

When I read this recipe I wasn’t sure about lemon and sausage together, but it’s very tasty and 1- 1/2 cups is 9 points with the points system from Weight Watchers. My husband and I thought is was delicious.

Ingredients:

1- 9 ounce pkg of linguine (you can buy wheat pastas for even a healthier version) I only had regular pasta for this recipe

1/2 lb. sweet Italian turkey sausage. (I cut prep time by purchasing Jimmy Dean pre-cooked turkey crumbles to make it easier. They were fully cooked and have 60% less fat than regular sausage.)

1- sliced shallot (if you can’t find shallots, buy some green onions and use about 3 of them chopped up)

1- 9 ounce bag of baby spinach, washed and ready to use

Directions: 

Bring your water to a boil

Cook your linguine according to pkg. directions until aldente’ (firmer texture, not soggy)

Drain, reserving 1/3 cup of the pasta water for later

In a large skillet, add 2 tsp olive oil and heat your sausage through (if using regular, uncooked sausage, makes sure its fully cooked, casing removed and no longer pink, approximately 15 minutes) and break up into crumbles with your spatula while cooking.

Add your sliced shallot (or green onions) to the sausage when almost cooked through and cook about 2 minutes.

Remove this mixture to a bowl

Add the spinach and reserved 1/3 cup of pasta water to the same skillet and cook until wilted and bright green, approximately 3 minutes.

Return sausage and shallots to wilted spinach in the skillet and stir thoroughly until heated through.

Add your drained pasta and the juice of one full lemon, toss well.

Add salt and pepper to taste. Yummy! Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Lemony Linguine with Turkey Sausage and Spinach

  1. I made this last night for the family, and with 3 very picky kids, there was not one complaint, and I was asked when can I make this again.

    Thank you ..for an awesome recipe, that is extremely family friendly

    • Hi Steve,
      Thanks for stopping by my food blog! I am so glad your family enjoyed this. I especially like that your children liked it. It’s a tasty way to get them to eat something healthy. 🙂
      Robin

  2. Pingback: Recipe Review–Lemony Linguine with Turkey Sausage & Spinach | Fit n' Healthy Mama

Leave a Reply

