Hamburger Vegetable Soup

Hamburger Vegetable Soup

Today was a good day for soup here in N.E. Ohio… 54 degrees and blustery. BURR! – Like a FB friend of mine said, “Fall has fallen.”

I found this recipe on Facebook while at work (yeah… I’m the boss, I can Facebook) on the “Fix It and Forget It” page. It sounded so tasty that I ran to the store, got some ingredients I didn’t have on hand and ran home and threw it together! I tweeked it a bit; adding some things and omitting others so this is my version….

Quick, oh so satisfying and tasty! This is great served with any type of hot bread. I made crescent rolls, but you can make anything from French loaf to cornbread. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 lb- 90% lean hamburger, (so lean it doesn’t even need drained)

1- beef bouillon cube

5 tsp. beef bouillon powder (I used beef bouillon base, which is richer in look and taste)

1 – 16 oz. can of stewed tomatoes, do not drain

1 large onion (I used onion powder to taste)

3/4 Cup celery (I used celery salt to taste)

1 medium carrot, diced

1/2- head of cabbage, sliced into thin strips

1 bay leaf

1/2 tsp salt ( I omitted the salt as I thought the bouillon was enough- I was right, it was tasty without it)

1/8 tsp pepper

2 cups of water

1- 10 oz. bag of frozen peas (keep frozen until needed the last hour of cooking time)

3 Tbsp. parsley (sprinkled on top as a garnish)

Directions:

Fry hamburger and drain, unless you purchased 90% lean

Throw hamburger and all ingredients except peas and parsley together in crock pot on HIGH and cook for 4 hours.

About 1 hr before the soup is done, add your peas and warm through

When done, garnish each bowl with parsley and serve with a warm bread

Serves 6-8

Leave a Reply

