Marsala Wine Pork Chops with Leeks

Marsala Wine Pork Chops with Leeks

Marsala Wine Pork Chops with Leeks

I love pork chops but usually dread making them because they easily dry out and become like leather. But, I bought some the other day determined to find a way to make them juicy and moist. After reading several recipes online, I found that many people recommended a brine marinade that actually changes the cell wall of the pork (or chicken, turkey or other meat) allowing it to become moist. And, I discovered that the original 170-175 degrees that we thought we needed to cook pork to is no longer correct. Read more about that here and here.

This was by far the best pork chop I have ever had. Ever. Original recipe found here.

You’ll see I kept the brine the same (but you can add peppercorns, bay leaves, whatever) and changed the cooking directions a bit based on what I had on hand.

Mine tasted like Fall, if that makes any sense? The syrup I used in this recipe, I bought in Amish Country. You can find their Facebook page here. If you would like to buy some of your own, you can do so here.

With the cinnamon, pear and clove in the syrup, paired with the marsala wine, it just reminded me of a Fall day.  Super moist, super tasty. I will make these again and again. I hope you like them as much as we did.

Ingredients:

4 – pork chops (they recommend bone-in, but I had bought butterflied pork chops and ended up having to cut them in half to cook through, so I will by bone-in next time.)

2 Tbsp. – brown sugar

2 Tbsp.- salt

4 – cups water

4 cloves – garlic

1/2- Leek, washed and cut up in slices

1 Tbsp.- olive oil (or any cooking oil you like)

1/2 Cup- Marsala wine

1 Tbsp.- Spiced Pear Syrup (if you don’t have that, you could use maple syrup)

Salt and Pepper to taste

Brine: 

In a gallon sized zip-lock bag add your pork chops

Add in 4 cups of water, 2 garlic cloves (peeled and crushed with a fork), 2 Tbsp. brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. salt.

Squeeze out the air, zip, and mix around a bit. Put the bag back in the refrigerator for at least 4 hours if not over night. (I left mine in the the brine for three whole days before I got to them, lol!) Put the bag of chops in a bowl in case of any leakage.

Directions: 

Add 1 Tbsp. of cooking oil of your choice to a skillet on medium heat

Add your pork chops when the skillet is still cool

Cook till beige up the side and browned, then flip to the other side

Once browned on both sides, remove to a plate

To the same skillet add your leeks (or onions, if you like those better) and your other 2 cloves of garlic, peeled and mashed with a fork, cook about 5 minutes, stir frying.

Add your wine and syrup and cook till the alcohol is evaporated. Add the pork chops back in and cover on medium-low heat till your meat thermometer reads 140-145 degrees. (This took me about 12-15 minutes all together.)

Remove to a plate, cover with the cooked leaks and garlic and serve.

I made mine with buttered potatoes and roasted cauliflower, but I think these would rock with mashed potatoes for the juices from the pork to be drizzled over top. YUM!

Picture of Fall Colors- captured on my walk today.

Picture of Fall Colors- captured on my walk today.

Leave a Reply

